FAQs

Although pub quizzes have recently become very popular in Russia there are still many people here who don’t know much about this intellectual entertainment. That’s why we have asked our MC from New Zealand, Max Jackson, to answer the most frequently asked questions about pub quizzes in general, and about our iKnow quiz in particular.

What is a pub quiz?

Basically, it is a quiz held in a pub or bar. It’s a multi-team game in which participants answer various questions as a team. These questions are displayed on screens and voiced by a Master of Ceremony. The teams score points for correct answers and the winning teams receive prizes. Pub quizzes started in the UK in the 1970s to get people in pubs on quieter nights. Popularity rapidly grew over the next few years and then spread to other countries.

Can I play if I don’t speak English very well?

Of course, you can! I’m sure other members of your team will help you understand what’s going on and if you participate regularly and try to be active you will find that your spoken English improves from quiz to quiz. We usually explain the meaning of any complicated words or phrases. So you will not only improve your speaking skills but also broaden your vocabulary.

How many people can be on a team?

Teams can have up to nine people. An average team would be 5-6 people, but you can make a separate team even if there are only three or four of you.

What if I come alone or with a friend? Can I join a team?

We will invite you to join a team that has unoccupied seats at their table and is ready to welcome new members or we will create a new team with people like you who have come alone or with a friend.

What types of questions are there?

The questions come from various fields: general knowledge, logic, movies, music, history, geography, culture, language etc. Some are tricky and require attention and most of them are not as easy as they seem at first glance. So be prepared for an interesting quest!

How many questions are there?

Usually between 50 and 60 questions divided into 7 rounds by topic. In each round, teams write answers on separate sheets provided by the quiz team. These sheets are collected by staff and are collated onto results tables which are displayed at various breaks during the quiz.

How long is the quiz?

In most cases no longer than 2-2,5 hours including two 10-minute breaks between rounds, and a short break at the end to tally the scores.

How much is the entry fee?

It’s 500 rubles per person. The fee is to be paid at the entrance before the quiz starts.

What do I get if my team wins?

Your team will receive a Winner’s certificate and a prize which differs from game to game. If your team comes in first, you will all also win free admission for your whole team at your next game. We also have an Instagram contest with prizes. So, come and check it out!

Is there anything special about New Zealand English?

New Zealand English is very close to British English, although some people may detect a slight accent. Our experienced host makes sure that everyone understands each question.

How do I register for the game?

Please press REGISTER FOR THE QUIZ and follow the instructions.

Have more questions? Come to iKnow pub quiz and find answers to all of them!

Or contact us in a way most convenient for you!

Register for our next game right now! We’ll be happy to hear you say iKnow to every question!

Часто задаваемые вопросы

В последнее время квизы стали очень популярным интеллектуальным развлечением в России, однако многие всё еще не знают что это такое и с чем его едят. Мы попросили нашего новозеландского ведущего Макса Джексона ответить на часто задаваемые вопросы про квизы в общем и про наш квиз iKnow в частности.

Что такое квиз?

Квиз (или паб-квиз) – многокомандная интеллектуальная игра в пабе или баре, где участники отвечают на вопросы на абсолютно разные темы. Вопросы отображаются на экране и зачитываются ведущим. За правильные ответы команды набирают очки, команды-победители получают призы. На самом деле, паб-квизы начали проводиться в Великобритании в 70-х годах. Целью было привлечь посетителей в пабы в дни, когда там было мало народу. Игра быстро стала набирать популярность, и вскоре эта мода перекинулась на другие страны.

Могу ли я участвовать в квизе, если я не очень хорошо говорю по-английски?

Конечно можете! Уверен, что остальные члены команды помогут вам понять смысл вопросов, а если вы будете играть регулярно и активно, то удивитесь, насколько ваш английский становится лучше с каждой игрой. Кроме того, обычно мы объясняем значение сложных слов и фраз, что также облегчает понимание. Поэтому вы не только подтянете свой английский, но и основательно пополните свой словарный запас.

Сколько человек может быть в команде?

Обычно в команде играет не более девяти человек. В среднем – 5–6, но если вас будет всего трое или четверо, вы вполне можете создать отдельную команду.

А если я приду один или вдвоем? Смогу ли я играть в команде?

Да, мы предложим Вам сесть за стол к команде со свободными местами или создадим новую команду из участников, которые, как и вы, пришли в одиночку.

Какие вопросы встречаются на квизе?

Вопросы на совершенно разные темы: история, география, наука, музыка, культура, кино, логика, языки и пр. Некоторые из них довольно каверзные и не такие простые, как могут показаться, – придется сосредоточиться. В общем, будьте готовы к интересному интеллектуальному приключению!

Сколько будет вопросов?

Обычно квиз состоит из 50–60 вопросов, разделенных на 7 тематических раундов. Участники записывают ответы на бланках, которые сдают в конце каждого раунда. После подсчета очки заносятся в турнирную таблицу, размещаемую на экране в перерывах.

Сколько времени идет квиз?

Обычно 2 –2,5 часа с учетом двух 10-минутных перерывов между раундами и короткого перерыва в конце перед оглашением финальных результатов.

Сколько стоит участие в квизе?

500 рублей с человека. Оплата производится наличными до начала игры.

Что я получу, если моя команда победит?

Ваша команда получит сертификат победителя и приз (от игры к игре призы бывают разные). Если команда займет первое место, вы также получите право бесплатного посещения следующей игры для всей команды. А еще у нас есть конкурс в Инстаграме с отдельными призами. Так что приходите, играйте и побеждайте!

В чем отличие новозеландского английского языка?

Новозеландский английский очень близок к британскому, хотя некоторые люди улавливают отличия в акценте. В любом случае, наш ведущий сделает так, чтобы участники поняли каждый вопрос.

Как зарегистрироваться на квиз?

Жмите на кнопку «РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ НА ИГРУ» и следуйте инструкциям.

У Вас остались вопросы? Приходите на наш квиз iKnow, и мы с радостью на них ответим!

Или свяжитесь с нами любым удобным для Вас способом!

Регистрируйтесь на нашу следующую игру прямо сейчас!